Crate Cafe

It was just me and my dad for the weekend since the rest of the family is out and about somewhere. So what better way to spend our Sunday than to go on a road trip to the mountains of Busay? Even though I was sleepy and only had about 4 hours of sleep from the previous night, we got into the car and drove up to the mountainside at 9 AM.

We had a swell time admiring the flowers and the view of the Sirao Flower Farm, all while eating sweet corn and turon. We also made our way to Balamban to enjoy the cold mountain air and the sights and sounds of West 35 Eco Resort. It was a great father & son bonding moment, and it had been a while since I spent some quality time with my dad. I’ll write more about those places in a future post. But what caught my eye was when we were making our way down back to the city.

20160228_140550 (1280x720)

We saw this very cute structure along the side of the road. It was just right before the Maria Luisa entrance in Busay, along the left side of the road. The exact address is Veterans Drive, Lower Busay. I had heard about this new coffee shop opening shop in the mountains, and I wanted to check it out for myself.

20160228_141035 (720x1280)

The name of the place is called Crate Cafe. As the name implies, the inspiration draws from a crate or a self-supporting wooden container. I thought it was a very novel idea for a small artisan coffee shop to open in the Busay area. It definitely made sense, as a lot of tourists and locals would head over to places like Temple of Leah, Sirao Flower Farm, Adventure Cafe, West 35 Eco Resort, Mountainview, Tops and other places, and would be looking for a nice place to chill and relax after. This place certainly fit the bill.

20160228_141251 (720x1280)

There’s something about wooden fixtures, chalkboards and the smell of brewed coffee that just gets you excited. When you head inside, the place is really tiny. Like just enough for 4-5 people to line-up at the counter. There’s a nice area outside with a few tables and chairs for you to enjoy. It has a bit of a view, but nothing that picturesque when comparing to magnificent views from Mountainview, Tops, West 35 and the like, but the ambiance outside is refreshing. There’s something about enjoying a cup of coffee while looking at this small wooden house all while breathing the fresh mountain air. Refreshing to say the least.

20160228_140933 (1280x720)

20160228_141306 (1280x720)

The interior is really just like a crate, a wooden container that is just right in terms of space. You just line up,take a gander at the nice decorations and fixtures (which I believe is very crucial in delivering a great coffee experience!), and order your coffee. The owner, Diane, was very nice and courteous, and she served the coffee herself. Talk about customer service right there.

20160228_141314 (1280x720)

They have some desserts and delicacies for you to pair your coffee with. I didn’t get to try it this time, but I’ll definitely have a slice of cake or two the next time I head over here.

20160228_140657 (720x1280)

I took a picture of their menu. They have the standard hot beverages which have Espresso, Americano, Cappucino, Cafe Latte, Caramel Latte, Mocha Latte and White Mocha Latte. They also have some blended drinks like Banana Coffee Caramel, Raspberry White Mocha and S’mores Mocha, which certainly interesting by name. Then they have some cold beverages and some Italian Sodas. Servings come in traditional (8 oz.) and medium (12 oz.) if you’re wondering.

20160228_141628 (1280x720)

I ordered a medium cup of White Mocha Latte. I waited for about 4-5 minutes. The packaging was gorgeous and simple, stamped with the Crate Cafe logo. I really like small details like this. Went outside and admired the view for a bit while sitting down on the wooden table and chairs, which were also made out of crates. Again, it’s all about the details.

How did I find the coffee? Well, for PHP 140.00 for a 12 oz. cup of White Mocha Latte, I have to say that it was absolutely delicious! Just the right hint of White Mocha, Coffee and Milk. I was taking a look at their machinery for making the fresh brewed coffee, and it certainly looked expensive. I just wish the serving was a tad bit bigger for the price, but I guess it all boils down to the increased costs they incur of having a coffee shop way up in the mountains. But I digress. If we’re just talking about the taste of the coffee, then it was two thumbs up for me.

This place fills in a very niche market of being a artisan coffee shop way up in the mountains. They definitely have the advantage of being unique and have a very strategic location for locals and tourists alike. They certainly caught my attention. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends, and I can’t wait to try the other drinks.

Feel free to contact Crate Cafe at 0995-128-7466. They are closed on Mondays, but open from Tuesday-Friday from 7AM-10AM and 5PM-10PM. On Saturday and Sunday, they are open from 7AM all the way up to 10PM. You can check out their Facebook page here. They just opened last February 8, 2016, so they are really fresh out of the box. (Heh.)

As always, please feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions or inquiries. Follow me on my social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter & Instagram) @mikes41720. I’ll catch you on the next blog post.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Crate Cafe

Leave a Reply

