A review of the Nike SB Dunks Firecracker

Hey, guys!

Today, I have another pick-up I’d like to share with you. I’m catching up on the back-logs for blog posts I failed to make, so please bear with me here! I got this last October, from We Legendary Skateshop in Manila. They are an awesome skateshop that has a lot of apparel and shoes that you can’t find anywhere else. They get a lot of awesome Nike SB’s releases the whole year round. Check them out here. I got my first ever pair of Nike Dunk SB’s and I must say, it was a pleasure doing business with them. Deposit money, and once confirmed, shipped over in the next 1-2 days. No hassle at all. Check them out!

???????????????????????????????

These are the Nike Dunk SB Low Firecrackers. They were released to commemorate the 4th of July, and this pack comes in this one, the all black upper, and a variant in red. I chose these ones as I thought the black would fit my style more and I thought the red ones were just a bit too bright.

???????????????????????????????

We’ve got this awesome Nike SB Box with the duct tape style packaging. It says that it’s sent from the future, and that white Nike SB font really accentuates and makes this box pop!

???????????????????????????????

A look at the tag. I usually wear a US SZ 10 on most shoes since lengthwise I run about 9-9.5, but I’ve got wide feet, so widthwise, I’d need to get a 10. These Dunks are naturally wide, so I figured getting it in a SZ 9.5 would be good. Turns out, they fit just fine! The colorway is Black, White & Challenge Red.

???????????????????????????????

These shoes are crazy! My first ever pair of Nike Dunk SB’s, and I’m so happy with this purchase! We don’t get a lot of Nike SB’s here in Cebu, so checking it online on We Legendary was awesome. The price was also very close to retail, so I’m very happy with that! Let’s take a closer look at the shoe.

???????????????????????????????

The outsole is that standard iconic Nike Dunk traction pattern. You know it’s a Nike Dunk when you see that imprint and classic pattern. Mostly black.

???????????????????????????????

There’s a hit of that Challenge Red on the midfoot area, which gives it a nice pop to the otherwise all black outsole.

???????????????????????????????

We’ve also got those pop-out stars peeking out from the sides of the outsole. These little details make it look awesome in my opinion.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

The black outsole is visible from the sides as it merges with the white midsole that also has white stitching.

???????????????????????????????

Up on the toebox, we’ve got this suede material. It’s not really that high quality and plush feeling, but it’s not bad either. It feels kind of like felt. There is also that black stitching across the mudguard.

???????????????????????????????

Along the medial and lateral side, we’ve got a white Nike swoosh, with a textured material. You can see that it has yellow stitching, which makes it pop just a bit.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Along the tongue, it’s made out of a padded mesh material. The standard Nike Dunk eyelets are present, and we’ve got black round laces.

???????????????????????????????

If you want them to pop a bit more, they also come with extra laces in that Challenge Red.

???????????????????????????????

You can just see how padded that tongue is. We’ve got a yellow patch with black text for Nike SB Dunk Low Pro.

???????????????????????????????

This is how the side eyelets look like. So if you want to adjust your lacing, you’ve got extra lace holes to make adjustments with.

???????????????????????????????

Here is a picture inside the shoe. We’ve got a black sockliner, and it’s pretty padded! I like how cushioned it is. Take a look at that special insole, which has a white Nike SB and has a graphic of fireworks. Again, little details like this really give the shoe its character.

???????????????????????????????

Here’s a look at the back of the tongue, the other part of the yellow tag. Made in Vietnam.

???????????????????????????????

Here’s a look at the heel padding. You can see how padded the shoe is around the ankle to the heel, as well as on the tongue. I tried it on and it felt real nice with the step-in comfort. These shoes aren’t exactly ideal to wear and walk around in for the whole day though, as I experienced a bit of pain along my midfoot. It must be the general construction of the whole shoe, as well as that fat mesh tongue.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Now, here’s a look at my favorite part of the shoe! The back heel tab. We’ve got the word ‘caution’ on the left shoe and ‘flammable’ on the right shoe, all embroidered in red, which I think is awesome! Really gives way to the firecracker theme. We’ve also got red stitching and that graphic of white stars on a red background. This is a really subtle shoe when looking at it from the front, but when you go from the front to the back, as well as inside the shoe, you can really see the details shining. The concept was executed really well.

???????????????????????????????

All in all, I’m really happy with my first pair of Nike SB’s. They’ve got an awesome concept, they look subtle, but they’re also able to give a bit of pop when needed (I change the laces from time to time) and the Nike Dunk design is just a timeless classic. I actually don’t know how to skate, but I think this shoe is just great for casual wear.

I highly recommend that you guys check out We Legendary for your SB apparel and lifestyle needs, they’ve got an awesome collection there!

Please feel free to drop a comment or leave a message if you have any questions or remarks on these Nike SB Dunk Low Pro Firecrackers. Hey! Since it’s almost New Year for 2014, these’ll fit right in!

Until next time,

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “A review of the Nike SB Dunks Firecracker

  1. I’ve been looking for an online review for WeLegendary. Specifically about ordering from them online. Although this post is from 2013, it’s definitely helpful. Salamat.

Leave a Reply

